Anchorage Golf Legacy
Support our local non-profit organization today.

U.S. Senior Women’s Amateur History

The USGA Senior Women’s Amateur Championship was inaugurated in 1962 for women golfers age 50 and older.

By the late 1950s, a number of senior women’s golf organizations had been formed, principally to conduct tournaments, but there was no existing tournament to determine the national champion. The USGA was requested to step in, and in January 1962, the Executive Committee approved such a competition.

From 1962-1996, the Senior Women's Amateur was a 54-hole, stroke-play competition. Since 1997, the championship has mirrored all of the other USGA amateur competitions, with 36 holes of on-site qualifying to determine the final 64 players for match play.

Carolyn Cudone claimed five consecutive titles from 1968-72, and Carol Semple Thompson won four straight from 1999-2001. Dorothy Porter and Anne Sander have also each won four championships, with Marlene Streit, Diane Lang and Ellen Port each capturing three titles.

logo art white
Anchorage Golf Legacy
Home of the 60th
U.S. Senior Women's Open
Jul 30 - Aug 4, 2022